Treasurer-Tax Collector
The Treasurer-Tax Collector’s Department operates three divisions - Treasury, Property Tax, and Central Collections. While the activities of each division are unique, the primary purpose of the department as a whole is to collect revenue owed to the County, cities, special districts, school districts, and the court system. The department is committed to providing excellent customer service and assuring effective utilization of the public’s tax dollars through a program of performance measurement and management.
Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) Program

The PACE program allows for property owners to freely and willingly enter into contractual agreements with contractors and PACE financing providers for clean energy improvements. As with any contractual agreement, the borrower/property owner enters at their own risk. PACE improvements are financed by loans managed by 3rd party PACE Administrators and repaid via line item assessments placed on property tax bills. It is important to note that this often more than doubles a property owner’s tax bill, so planning ahead to increase mortgage lenders escrow account contributions or save money sufficient to pay the bills on the bi-annual due dates is essential.

Importantly, there are inherent risks that should be considered by all applicants. The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) has expressed concerns regarding the PACE program. According to FHFA, the central risk is that these loans create an additional potential for the loss of a property through a tax sale or foreclosure by the PACE Administrator if the owner cannot meet the extra debt burden. Fannie Mae (FNMA), Freddie Mac (FHLMC) and Federal Housing Administration (FHA) lenders will not finance or refinance mortgages with existing PACE liens. Property owners are likely to be required to pay off the PACE assessment balance at the time of refinance or sale. All PACE programs now include disclosures regarding FHFA's position regarding PACE programs in applications, financing documents, and closing statements.

More about the PACE program in Butte County.

Make Payment    View and Print Tax Bill

    Tax Auction 

 Contact Treasurer

Treasurer-Tax Collector

Property Tax Division

Central Collections Division

Treasury Division

 Locations & Hours

25 County Center Drive
Suite 125

Oroville, CA 95965

Map of County Complex

Office Hours
Monday  - Friday
9:00am to 5:00pm

Excludes Holidays

 News & Announcements