Treasurer-Tax Collector
The Treasurer-Tax Collector’s Department operates three divisions - Treasury, Property Tax, and Central Collections. While the activities of each division are unique, the primary purpose of the department as a whole is the collection and cash management of revenue owed to the County, cities, special districts, school districts, and the court system. The department is committed to providing excellent customer service and assuring effective utilization of the public’s tax dollars through a program of performance measurement and management.
Property Tax Payment Options
The online property tax system will be unavailable for the month of July. If you need to check your tax status, please contact our office at 552-3720 or send an email to

Pay by e-check or credit card using the Treasurer-Tax Collector Department's online payment system and receive an immediate email confirmation that your property tax payment has been processed!

  • E-checks - It is FREE to pay by e-check through the Treasurer-Tax Collector's online payment system. Use this service instead of  your bank's "bill pay" system. 
  • Credit Cards - The service fee to pay by credit card is 2.34% of the total charged to the card.
  • Debit Cards - The service fee is $4.95 per transaction.     

To pay by telephone, please call Heartland Payment Systems at 1-844-882-3391 (toll free).

Why is there a service fee for credit cards? Here's the answer.

By Mail

Payments by mail must be postmarked on or before the due date listed on the payment stub.  Please make checks payable to the Butte County Tax Collector. Write your assessment number on your check and include your tax bill payment stub, if available.

Exception: Delinquent property taxes with a final due date of June 30th must be received by the Treasurer-Tax Collector's Department on or before that date. 

In Person

NOTE:  In an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19, the office is currently closed.  Please pay your property taxes using one of the above methods until further notice.  

The Treasurer-Tax Collector's office is located on the bottom floor of the Butte County Administration building in Oroville. The Property Tax Division accepts cash, checks, and money orders at the front counter and provides a public computer terminal for online payments. During December and April, check and money order payments may be placed in a secured drop box located directly in front of the Treasurer-Tax Collector's office.

Address & Office Hours

NOTE:  In an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19, the office is currently closed.  Please check back for updates.

Butte County Treasurer-Tax Collector
25 County Center Drive, Suite 125
Oroville, CA 95965

Open Monday through Friday
9:00 am to 5:00 pm

Find Us

Contact Us


Make Payment    View and Print Tax Bill

    Tax Auction 

 Contact Treasurer

Treasurer-Tax Collector

Property Tax Division

Central Collections Division

Treasury Division

 Locations & Hours

Due to COVID-19, the Treasurer-Tax Collector's Office has limited lobby hours from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm but staff is available to assist by telephone and e-mail until 5:00 pm Monday - Friday.  

25 County Center Drive
Suite 125

Oroville, CA 95965

Map of County Complex

 News & Announcements