Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Contact Behavioral Health Services and/or the Butte County Probation Department.
Show All Answers
In California, it is possible to seal juvenile court records for all but very serious offenses.
To ask a court to seal your juvenile record, you must be at least 18 years old or at least 5 years must have passed since your juvenile court supervision ended. Then, your record may be sealed if a court finds that:
Your record does not qualify for sealing if you committed rape, murder, robbery, or one of the other serious offenses listed in California Welfare & Institutions Code section 707(b) when you were at least 14 years old. (California Welfare & Institutions Code, § 781.)
To seal your juvenile record, you must file a petition with the juvenile court in the county where your case was handled.
Contact your child’s assigned Probation Officer.
As the parent or guardian of a child who is on probation, you have a responsibility to help your child follow the conditions of probation imposed by the court and the Probation Officer to the best of your ability. You have a responsibility to abide by any court orders, including bringing your child to court as directed. Parents need to contribute to the development of their child’s well-being and improved performance.
“VOP” stands for “Violation of Probation.” A VOP is filed when a child on probation repeatedly does not follow the conditions of his or her supervision and/or gets re-arrested. The Probation Officer prepares a Violation of Probation petition to return the juvenile to Court for further action.
Probation is one of the dispositions that a judge can give a minor after finding him or her guilty of the accused crime. While on probation the youth lives at home and is assigned a probation officer who works with the child to make sure he/she can remain successfully in the community and not get arrested again.
The average length of stay at Butte County Juvenile Hall is about 14 to 20 days. But very few youths are incarcerated for that actual time, most are in and out within hours or days, or are even in for months at a time. Those large ranges of detention time are what created the average of 14 to 20 days.
Probation and parole are both alternatives to incarceration. However, probation occurs prior to and often instead of county jail or prison time, while parole is an early release from state prison. In both probation and parole, the party is supervised and expected to follow certain rules and guidelines.
Contact your Local Law Enforcement Agency.
From your Local Law Enforcement Agency.