Drought Task Force


  • 1 to 3 pm
  • 3rd Thursday of every month, on an as-needed basis
  • Human Resources East Training Room
    3 County Center Drive
    Oroville, CA 95965


The Drought Task force is comprised of various Department Directors and others in the County.

  • Kamie Loeser, Chair
    Butte County Department of Water and Resource Conservation Director
  • Josh Jimerfield, Vice -Chair
    Butte County Office of Emergency Management Deputy Administrative Officer
  • Ernie Washington
    Butte County Water Commission Chair
  • Dawn Nevers
    Butte County Administration Deputy Administrative Officer
  • Joshua Pack
    Butte County Department of Public Works Director
  • Elaine McSpadden
    Butte County Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Environmental Health Director
  • Louie Mendoza
    Butte County Department of Agriculture Commissioner
  • Luis Espino
    University of California (UC) Cooperative Extension/County Farm Advisor Director
  • Garrett Sjolund
    California Department of Forestry/Butte County Fire Battalion Chief
  • Dan Taverner
    Natural Resource Conservation Service District Conservationist
  • Thad Walker
    Butte County Resource Conservation District District Manager


A major element of the Drought Preparedness and Mitigation Plan was the creation of the Drought Task Force (DTF), which is comprised of various Butte County Department Directors and others in the County. The DTF monitors hydrologic conditions in Butte County throughout the water year and reports the findings to the Water Commission and Board of Supervisors annually in non-drought situations and biannually, quarterly, or monthly as the drought progresses. Through the DTF, the Board of Supervisors receives recommendations and actions that the County should take.