Treasurer-Tax Collector
The Treasurer-Tax Collector’s Department operates three divisions - Treasury, Property Tax, and Central Collections. While the activities of each division are unique, the primary purpose of the department as a whole is to collect revenue owed to the County, cities, special districts, school districts, and the court system. The department is committed to providing excellent customer service and assuring effective utilization of the public’s tax dollars through a program of performance measurement and management.
Property Tax Distribution
During the 2013-14 fiscal year, Butte County billed approximately $197 million in secured property taxes, which represents the 1% tax on the assessed value of property, plus voter approved school bonds and special direct assessments. The taxes collected were distributed among several local agencies that share this source of revenue. Schools received the largest percentage of property taxes followed by the County, redevelopment agencies (RDAs), cities and special districts. The bar chart below illustrates the approximate percentage of property taxes distributed per agency.

Make Payment    View and Print Tax Bill

 Contact Treasurer

Treasurer-Tax Collector

Property Tax Division

Central Collections Division

Treasury Division

 Locations & Hours

25 County Center Drive
Suite 125

Oroville, CA 95965

Map of County Complex

Office Hours
Monday  - Friday
9:00am to 5:00pm

Excludes Holidays

 News & Announcements

December 10th was the final deadline to pay the first installment of 2014-2015 secured property tax bills.  The first installment was due November 1st but taxpayers had until the close of business on December 10th to pay without penalty. A 10 percent late fee has been added to all outstanding first intallment amounts. More about payment options.

Claims for excess proceeds from the June 2014 property tax auction are currently being accepted. Read more.