The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) administers the Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) program. The Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) was established to provide a voluntary medical marijuana identification card issuance and registry program for qualified patients and their caregivers. The MMIC identifies the cardholder as a person protected under the provisions of Prop 215 and SB 420. It is used to help law enforcement identify the cardholder as being able to legally possess certain amounts of medical marijuana under specific conditions.
The MMP was authorized through SB 420 (Chapter 875, Statutes of 2003.), to clarify provisions of Proposition 215, the Compassionate Use Act of 1996, and to create a medical marijuana identification card program for medically qualified patients and their caregivers.
Who May Apply?
Any resident of Butte County whose physician recommends the use of marijuana for one or more serious medical conditions may apply. It is the applicant’s (patient’s) option to designate a primary caregiver and apply for a caregiver identification card.
- Obtain a written recommendation from your physician. The California Department of Public Health form CDPH-9044 may be used by the physician. If any other format is used, it should contains the same information form CDPH-9044.
- Complete an Application/CDPH-9042
- Complete the Local Public Health form for consent to release confidential information and the declaration for issuance.
- Call the Butte County Public Health Vital Records Office at 530-538-7700 to schedule an appointment.
What To Bring To Your Scheduled Appointment
- A current, original written recommendation from your physician. This will be returned to you at the end of your appointment.
- A completed Application/CDPH-9044
- A completed Application/CDPH-9042
- A completed Local Public Health form
- A government issued picture ID such as a passport, driver's license or military ID.
- Proof of Butte County residency such as an electric or water bill, DMV car registration, or housing rental paperwork.
- Application fee.
- Medi-Cal card, if applicable.
A digital photograph of the patient and the primary caregiver, if any, will be taken during the appointment.
What Happens After Your Application Appointment
The physician's license will be verified with the Medical Board of California and the patient's recommendation will be verified with the physician. After the recommendation has been verified, Public Health staff will order the Medical Marijuana Identification Card from the California Department of Public Health. Public Health staff will contact the patient when the Medical Marijuana Identification Card is ready to be picked up.
Denial of Card
If the physician does not verify the recommendation within 30 days, the patient's application will be denied. Public Health will notify the patient that the application has been denied. Application fees are not refundable.
The patient will have 30 days from denial to appeal the decision to the California Department of Public Health.
Patient - $45.15*
Caregiver - $45.15
*Patients with active Medi-Cal participation at the time of application receive a 50% fee reduction. Application fees are nonrefundable.
Measure A - Growing Medical Marijuana in Butte County
For information about Measure A, please review the information at the Butte County Development Services website.