It is the mission of the Butte County Cooperative Fire Agencies to provide professional services to protect lives, property, and environment to those residing, working, or traveling within the unincorporated areas of Butte County, the Cities of Oroville, Biggs, Gridley, and the Town of Paradise.



In the fall of 2020, Butte County Sheriff's Office Emergency Managers began working with CAL FIRE, Butte County Geographical Information Systems (GIS) and Butte County Sheriff’s Search and Rescue, creating Evacuation Zones for all of Butte County. These zones will be used during a fire or other emergency requiring evacuations in our county. It is important to remember the last three numbers of the zone, as every zone has a different number and no two are the same. For example, fire station 55 in Bangor is located at 7540 Oro-Bangor Highway. The zone is: BUT-BR-924. The BUT stands for Butte, the BR stands for Bangor and 924 is the zone number.

View The New Evacuation Zone Map


 Open Burning Allowed as of Nov. 14, 2022


HQ Vid snip Virtual Tour of our Headquarters Facility

Defensible Space - Rules and regulations

BC Benevolent Logo Butte County Firefighter's Benevolent Foundation

Thank you for supporting firefighters and their families.




For information on evacuations please visit the Butte County Office of Emergency Management Evacuation Information website



Butte County Fire History Map
Butte County Cooperative Fire Protection
Annual Report 2021



 Action Buttons
 Location and Hours

Butte County Fire
176 Nelson Avenue
Oroville CA, 95965

Office Hours
Monday to Friday
8:00am to 5:00pm
Excludes Holidays

 Contact Fire


Butte County Fire

In an Emergency
Dial 9-1-1
Arson Hotline

Headquarters Main Office

Phone:    530.538.7111
Fax:        530.538.7401

 Twitter Feed

 Butte County Fire CALFIRE

Garrett Sjolund, Fire Chief

Bill Reid, Deputy Chief of Operations

Garrett Needles, Assistant Chief, Administration

Patrick Purvis, Assistant Chief, North Division

Byron Vance, Assistant Chief, Special Projects

Sean Norman, Assistant Chief, South Division

Chris Tenns, Assistant Chief, City of Oroville

Facebook Icon  Twitter Icon