Library cards are free, although a replacement fee of $2.50 is charged to replace a lost card. You must present your library card to check out books.
Your new library card will open the doors to a whole world of books, movies, music, programs for kids and adults, computers and online information. A library card gives borrowing privileges at all branches and provides remote access to the library’s online resources.
Applications are available at all branches and can also be printed in either English or Spanish from the links below. The application must be submitted in person.
When you apply for a library card, you agree to return borrowed materials on time, pay overdue fees, and be responsible for lost or damaged items.
You may choose to set up a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for your account at the time the card is issued, or anytime thereafter. You can change your PIN at any library branch or online at any time. A PIN will allow you to place holds and renew items online. For assistance, call or visit one of the library branches.
To be issued an adult library card you must present identification:
- Valid California Driver License showing current residential address, or
- Valid California State Identification Card showing current residential address.
Or, any one item from BOTH of the following two lists:
Current Picture Identification (I.D.):
- Military I.D.
- School-issued student I.D.
- Employee identification card
- Out-of-State driver license
Address Verification: (must include name and California address)
- Mail postmarked within last 30 days
- An imprinted bank check or deposit slip
- Current rent receipt (confirming 30 day occupancy)
- Current utility bill dated within the last 30 days
Children and young adults (ages 0 - 17) may receive a card by completing an application signed by a parent or legal guardian.
Teachers Advantage Pass Cards
Teacher’s Advantage Pass is a borrowing program being implemented at the Butte County Library specifically for Butte County educators. This special library card entitles educators to receive an extended 42-day loan period on most materials with the opportunity for one renewal period. Standard library overdue fines will apply.
Eligible borrowers are public and private school teachers in elementary, secondary, college/graduate and adult education schools. Licensed day care providers, tutors affiliated with a literacy program, and home educators also qualify.
Print, audio, and video materials are included with the exception of feature film videos and DVDs. Use of the Teacher’s Advantage Pass does not convey public performance rights for videos. Materials must relate to work assignments; extended loan periods are not available for personal items. Extended loans are available only on materials owned by the Butte County Library. Most items may be renewed one time.
Ask about Teachers Advantage Pass at any of our library branches.